New SCA Telephone Meeting

| No Comments

Online Intergroup is pleased to announce that a new weekly telephone meeting, open to all SCA members worldwide, will start July 17, 2011. It will be held Sundays at 4:00 p.m. New York time and will be conducted in English. 

The starting time outside North America will vary depending on whether New York is on Daylight Savings Time or not. Currently, that means 9 p.m. in London, 2000 GMT, and 5 a.m. in Tokyo, for example, but in six months the starting time will be 9 p.m. in London, 2100 GMT, and 6 a.m. in Tokyo. Services like 
http://timeanddate.com can tell you when it will be 4 p.m. New York time in your locality.

If you are interested in participating, send an email to 
oimoderator@gmail.com, and you will be sent an invitation and password to access the call. You must have both before the call begins in order to participate. Passwords are user-specific, and have an accompanying tag that is used to identify you online to the moderator and other participants on the call. The tag is usually your email address or first name. You can say how you would like to be identified in the email you send when requesting a password.

To join the meeting, you can use a regular phone and make a local call (in most countries, see the list at 
http://www.calliflower.com/getting-to-know-calliflower/international-dial-in-numbers/), or call a default US number specified in the invitation, or from a computer you can use Skype (free worldwide) or Google Voice (typically free as well). If you use your phone, you will pay the regular tariff to whatever number you choose from the list. You will then be connected to the international conference call and asked for your PIN number. 

You can also participate online and see who else is on the call, and "chat" with participants by typing messages as the call proceeds. You should be able to do this by clicking on the "join online" link in the Calliflower invitation you receive. If you are unable to connect in this way, you will need to create a free account at 
www.calliflower.com.

 

There are recorded instructions for how to use the conference call features when you first call in. For instance, when not speaking, it is recommended that you mute your line to eliminate background noise. You can raise your hand so the moderator can see you want to say something, and call on you when it is your turn to speak.

 

In keeping with SCA's 7th Tradition, contributions can be made by PayPal online at the ISO website by using the link http://sca-recovery.org/donate.html, or by check drawn on a US bank via mail to the SCA New York address provided in the same link. Please be sure to note that funds are from an Online Intergroup participant. 


Online Intergroup is very excited to be offering this new option. We are keenly aware of the number of sexual compulsives who will appreciate being able to participate in a telephone meeting, especially where there is limited or no access to face-to-face meetings. As time goes on we hope to expand to more meetings per week, but one step at a time! 

We hope you will join us on Sundays, and please pass this news on to anyone who may be interested.


Yours in recovery,

Kevin - SCA Toronto

(Regional Co-ordinator for the Americas outside the USA, including Online Intergroup and Telephone Meetings)

 

Leave a comment